Spring 2020 classes have resumed online.
Please visit dcccd.edu/coronavirus for additional information and to learn how to prepare for online classes.

Distinguished Chapter

CVC PTK Chapter Named Top 2 in the World for 2016

For the third consecutive year, the Alpha Zeta Omicron chapter at Cedar Valley College has placed in the top three of all Phi Theta Kappa chapters internationally. The CVC chapter was named first runner-up for the 2016 Most Distinguished Chapter award, which CVC won in 2014. Lone Star College in Tomball earned top honors for 2016. CVC was named second runner-up last year.

CVC earned several PTK awards of distinction during the PTK convention, held April 7-8, 2016 in Washington, D.C., as follows:

Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Jennifer Wimbish

Distinguished Administrator Award: Associate Vice Chancellor and Former CVC Vice President Anna Mays

Continued Excellence Award for Advisors: Rebekah Rios-Harris

Distinguished Advisor Team Award:
Dr. Tommy Thompson
Rebekah Rios-Harris
Miyoshi Holmes
Carolyn Ward

Beta Alpha Excellence Award (for ranking in the top 25 chapters for three years or more)

Distinguished Honors in Action Theme Award

Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award

Top 100 Chapter

Five Star Chapter

Congratulations to Alpha Zeta Omicron and everyone who supports the chapter for another year of PTK international excellence. Phi Theta Kappa is the oldest, largest and most prestigious honor society recognizing students pursuing two-year degrees. PTK is made up of more than three million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine countries.