Spring 2020 classes have resumed online.Please visit
dcccd.edu/coronavirus for additional information and to
learn how to prepare for online classes.
All students entering college for the first time are required to meet with an advisor. Advising sessions are scheduled after you have completed TSI requirements.
All students are encouraged to build a professional relationship with an academic advisor to promote your academic success.
Your advisor can help you:
Academic advisors are available to meet with you throughout the year — not just at registration time.
Please contact us if you have any questions.
Under Texas law (TEC Section 51.907), if you drop too many classes without having an acceptable reason,
your GPA and financial aid could be affected. Be sure you understand how this law may affect you before you drop a class.The law applies to students who enroll in a Texas public institution of higher education (including a college in the DCCCD system) for the first time in fall 2007 or later. Under this law, you may not drop more than six classes without an acceptable reason during your entire undergraduate career without penalty.For more information, please see
Dropping a Course or Withdrawing from College in the catalog or read
Facts About Dropping Classes. Your academic advisor can also answer questions about this law and how it may affect you.
Applying for College
Assessment TestingAcademic Advising |
Paying for Classes
If you have completed more than 15 credit hours, you should
request a degree plan to make sure you are making progress toward your goal.
When you send information to Cedar Valley College, it does not go directly into your record. This is still a hand-done process and sometimes it can take a few days.
We need to see the TSI status and/or prerequisites on your transcript before you can register. Unlike Admissions, Advising can start with unofficial documents. Any documentation sent for TSI or prerequisites must show the college or university's name and the student's name. Advising will also need:
At certain times of year, Admissions can get backed up with scanning documents into the system. It is quicker for Advising to put students in class if the documents are sent to
firstname.lastname@example.org. When putting students in class, advisors are required to have documentation for TSI scores or exemptions and when prerequisites are already met.
Advising is very diligent when working with online students. Once all the documentation is sent to cvcadvising, work begins immediately to register that student. Please allow 24 hours for processing. In high peak times of the year (such as Maymester, Summer 1, Summer 2 and Wintermester) processing may take 48 hours. You will be notified by email upon registration.
The email you receive will state the following:
"I have you registered for class. Tuition is due (due date) and the amount is (tuition). You may pay through eConnect or by calling the cashier at 972-860-2994. If you have financial aid questions, contact the Financial Aid Help Center at email@example.com.
Remember the closer it gets to class beginning, the less time there will be to pay. Be sure your financial aid is ready or that you can make payment before the last day to pay. Classes fill very quickly. If you are dropped for non-payment, another student may get registered before you can get back in the class."
For online classes, go to
http://ecampus.dcccd.edu/ to start the class. Your username will be your student email (e.g., firstname.lastname@example.org) and your password will be the same as eConnect.
The fax number is 972-860-8001. Be sure to include the name of the department or person you are faxing. Please include a picture ID (driver's license or school ID) enlarged to 150%.
Cedar Valley College Advising Office Building L 972-860-8262
Online New Student Orientation